Natalie's Review Bunker

Started by Natalie, December 29, 2022, 09:59:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Natalie

"Remember Natalie? She's back - in blog form!"

Have you ever wished you could just turn on your computer and see someone's unqualified opinions on your favourite media? In the past, such a thing has been unimaginable, a false creation of a heat-oppressed brain. But thanks to new advancements in technology, CalRef is now able to offer you this exclusive service!

Seriously though, I miss being good at writing. I used to be a real writer, you know, someone who's never happy with anything they write, and now look at me. It's been so long since I've written anything I've forgotten how to hate it. It simply won't do. I've decided a goal of mine for 2023 is to look for more creative outlets, so this topic is going to either collect various media reviews written throughout the coming year or die as a monument to my personal failings. It'd be cool to get some feedback on these since I'm really rusty at this sort of thing, but mostly I'm just trying to keep myself honest. Please enjoy.

Natalie

There's a concept that comes up a lot in designing and analyzing video games: the gameplay loop. A gameplay loop is the broad, abstract set of actions the player is frequently performing throughout the game. In Halo, you could say the core loop is entering an area, locating enemies, killing them, and figuring out which way to go next. In Super Mario 64, it's entering a painting, selecting a star, and exploring until you figure out how to get it. Of course, each iteration of this loop might feel vastly different to the player. It's not a bad thing, nor is it a critique, but it's present. I recommend Action Button's review of The Last of Us for much deeper insight into the development of top down cyclical gameplay in a game that does its best to disguise it.